The Mummy Tag

The Mummy Tag

FullSizeRender (40)

Are you a working mum or a stay at home mum ?

I currently work part time, it usually works out as 2 half days during the week and a whole day on a Saturday.  I’m very lucky that I don’t have to pay for childcare as family members (mostly my sister or Davids sister) help out and watch Connor for us while I work.

Would you have it any other way ?

I hate the thought of going to work because I would so much rather spend all my time with Connor but once I get there I’m absolutely fine.  Working 2 half days and a full day is definitely enough for me at the moment, I can’t imagine being away from him for any longer than that.

Do you co-sleep?

No, we never did.  We slept with Connor in his Moses basket next to our bed until he was 3/4 months then moved him into his cot.  We were living with my parents at the time otherwise he would’ve been transitioned to his cot much sooner.  We were waking him up, he was waking us up and nobody was getting a particularly good night sleep so him having his own space has definitely helped us.  I have nothing against co sleeping and probably would do it if it was the best option – everybody needs sleep right?  But all of us love our space when it comes to sleeping so squishing 3 in a bed just didn’t make sense.

What is your must have item for your baby?

Connor is now almost 3 so not a baby anymore but when he was a teeny tot we couldn’t go anywhere without his Sophie the Giraffe or his dummy.  He was teething from bang on 3 months old so always needed something to chew on.  He’s still pretty attached to his dummy unfortunately, but we have managed to restrict it to just nap/bedtime and hopefully the ‘Dummy Fairy’ will be able to visit soon!

How many kids do you plan on having ?

At least 1 more, although I have a funny feeling that I will be one of those people who would continue having babies – I just love kids!

Date night how often do you have them ?

Not often enough.  We very rarely spend much time out of the house together as a couple, if we do go out it’s usually because we have a party etc to go to so there’s not much one on one time.  It’s something we really do need to make an effort to do more of.

Your child’s favourite show ?

It changes daily.  He probably has about 4 that he rotates – Ben & Holly, The Lion Guard, Paw Patrol & Thomas and Friends.  He does like the dreaded pig but I can’t stand it so he only gets to watch that occasionally – terrible mother, I know!  He loves movies though so some days instead of watching his programmes he will ask for a film, usually Lion King, Jungle Book, Moana or one of the Julia Donaldson short stories.

Name one thing you bought before you had a baby and never ended up using ?

I honestly can’t remember, I think we used pretty much everything we had for him.

Your child’s favourite food

He loves, loves, loves broccoli, carrots, prunes, chicken, fish – honestly the boy will eat just about anything.

How many cars does your family have ?

We have 2 cars, always have.  I just couldn’t imagine going back to having to ask for lifts everywhere or wait to use the car.  I like my freedom and being able to jump in the car whenever I like.  David now has a van for work so as having 3 vehicles in the driveway is a little excessive we probably will be going down to just 1 car sometime soon.

Weight gain,before pregnancy,during, after and now

I actually lost weight during my pregnancy, all of my excess weight just seemed to form my bump.  Once Connor was born and my stomach went back to it’s normal size I was probably the smallest I’ve been in years however, as always, I got greedy and now I’m back where I originally started if not heavier!

Dream holiday with your kids

I can’t wait to take Connor to Disney World in Florida.  I’ve been a few times and it’s just such a magical place, I can’t wait to share it with him and David.

Dream holiday without the kids

Is it really bad that I can’t imagine (and don’t want to imagine) a holiday without Connor?  I wouldn’t settle if he wasn’t with us and would probably spend the entire time Face timing him and annoying the life out of David by talking about him!

How has your life changes since having kids?

It’s completely different but so much better.  I never was a big party girl and now I rarely drink because the thought of a hangover with the whirlwind that is Connor just doesn’t bear thinking about.  I didn’t realise that you could love someone else so much, it’s crazy that he can drive me absolutely nuts but I can’t bear to be parted from him!

Finish this sentence ” my heart melts when..”

I see David and Connor playing together, they both have the same silly sense of humour so they always end up playing the daftest of games.

Where do you shop for your kids?

I shop pretty much everywhere and anywhere.  I love clothes from Zara but I feel like he out grows them really quickly as they come up quite small compared to other shops.  Connor has clothes from all over the place, as long as they look good and fit him I really don’t care what the label says.

Favourite makeup and skincare product?

I love my No 7 foundation – it’s great coverage, not greasy at all and reasonably priced!  My favourite skincare product is probably the Soap and Glory face wash I got in last years Christmas gift set – it’s amazing!

Huggies or Pampers ?

Pampers 100%  no other brand has come close for us.

Have you always wanted kids ?

Always.  Ever since I was a little girl I was always playing with dolls and pretending they were my babies.

Best part of being a mum ?

Watching him grow and learn new things, seeing how confident he is in new situations.  He makes me so proud every day and I can’t believe that we made such a gentle, loving, clever little man!

I’ve just realised in doing this that I have almost no pictures of me & Connor – note to self, make an effort to take more pictures of us both!

I’d love to hear from some other Mummy’s out there so I tag Kirsty from HonestK, Ashley from AVodkaKindaOfMom and anybody else who wants to take part, please tag me so I can see your answers – I’m nosy like that!

2 thoughts on “The Mummy Tag

Leave a Reply

