Book Review – Oi Dog! Kes & Claire Gray & Jim Field

oi dog book review

Blurb

Frog is changing the rules… Dogs no longer sit on frogs. Phew! Dogs now sit on logs – and everyone else is going to have to sit somewhere different too.

Will cats want to sit on gnats?                                                                                              Will dragons like sitting on wagons?                                                                                       Will whales be happy to sit on nails?                                                                                        And, most importantly, where is Frog going to sit?

The hilarious sequel to the bestselling Oi Frog!

FullSizeRender (26)

What We Thought

I didn’t know what to expect of the sequel to ‘Oi Frog!’ especially since Connor loves the original so much but I needn’t have worried.  Oi Dog is the perfect second book, the stories tie together seamlessly and the ending is hilarious – I think I laughed harder than Connor the first time!  So now instead of having to constantly read 1 book, I now have to read both – Cheers Kes & Claire Gray!  I say that but actually I really don’t mind.  I don’t know that it’s possible to get sick of these books, especially not when I see how much they make Connor laugh, his wee face just lights up when I ask him what he wants to read & he replies “Oi Frog, Sit on the log!”.

FullSizeRender (27)

Yet again, the illustrations are spot on and the writing is as witty as ever – they even manage to rhyme with fajita?!  Then ending of this book is possibly my favourite ever – it was quite unexpected and I just found it hilarious.  I won’t go into any detail as I don’t want to spoil it but it’s definitely worth a read.  My thoughts on ‘Oi Dog!’ are almost exactly the same as my thoughts on ‘Oi Frog!’ the only difference being that I preferred the ending to book 2 but I think Connor loves them equally.  I was very pleased to hear that there is going to be a 3rd book in the series called, you might have guessed, ‘Oi Cat!’ where I’m told the Cat finally gets some feline justice.  It’s being published in September as far as I know so look out for a review of that nearer the time.

What books are your kids loving this week?

V xx

Leave a Reply

